A Different Breed

In creating my documentary I had a hard time with finding a topic in which I would document. I had many ideas in which I could use, but was not entirely pleased with what I had come up with. This process was something that was very stressful and hard for me, but when I came to the conclusion of documenting myself I was pleased. I know that it may not have been a very interesting or unique choice but I felt satisfied and that was all that mattered to me. In filming my documentary I found myself being very open about my feelings about dance and production. If it were not for dance at The Ohio State University I would have not found the interest, I have in production as a class or career. There is something about finding yourself in college and the process of doing so, in which is a roller coaster ride. I am still in the process of finding who I am, what I like, and what I want out of life but that is just they way things are right now. Tomorrow I might have a whole different outlook on life and want different things, and that is alright. There is a saying that goes along the lines of losing yourself in order to find yourself and I do not know if I completely agree with that saying or not. There is a part of me that is like yeah I get exactly what it is saying, but then there is the other half that wants to believe that I never truly lost my entire self. I would like to think there is a part of me in everything I do. That is why I chose the title A Different Breed. I feel as a dancer in a BFA program then that is something you want to pursue as a career, but there are many paths in which a dancer can take in gaining that BFA. Since I have decided at this point in my life to go down a different path than the ideal “become a dancer in a company” I see myself as A Different Breed.

