THE CREW

My first year experience in the Department of Dance at the Ohio State University was informative. I not only learned that I was interested in Production, but that I also was interested in perusing Production as a career. During my first year, I struggled with

dsc_0289whether or not I wanted to have performance as one of my focuses. Entering into a dance department that is usually what every dancer wants to do is … PERFORM! But with further training and development I found that I could have dance as my central focus, but also have Production as my career. What I mean by this is that I could potentially work for a venue or a theater where dance is performed so I can continue to have that connection.

Working with Dave Covey this semester has been one of the most eye opening experiences. The past semester I was Dave’s assistant with Bebe Miller’s final concert performance. I helped Dave take notes and watched him create lighting cues. During this time I was also an Assistant Stage Manager (ASM) for Dance Downtown.snapchat-902686861Working with Carrie Cox always has me smiling, but I know that at the end of the day I’m getting work done. I always learn something new with Carrie as well, and she is great about reminders. Carrie is very organized and has me in check all the time.

During this semester I got the chance to Stage Manage (SM) two different shows. The first show was Secret Frolic Live which was Anna Massey’s MFA project and the second is a faculty piece in Spring Concert. I have been thrown into a lot here in the Production Program in the Department, but I would have to say that it all has been worth it. It has helped me to learn on my feet and grasp things quicker. I’m glad that I can say that I love what I do and that I was fortunate  to find this field.

